Mississipi mud pie

DSC_2207

Ages ago, when I was working as waitress in one of the pubs we were selling Mississipi Mud Pie. It was the first time I ever saw it and I was amazed. Layers of chocolate and cream and more chocolate as a biscuit base- you just can’t beat it. I remind myself about this cake just a few weeks ago when I was talking with my friends. It turn out that I am so good at describing it that I had to promise to bake it. If it comes to cakes you don’t need to ask me twice. I bought some missing ingrediends and set myself to work. I used one of the Hairy Bikers recipe to start with (in a future I’m planning to fallow Martha Stewart recipe).

Base:

  • 75 g unsalted  butter
  • 150 g chocolate digestive biscuits
  • 150 g Oreo

Filling:

  • 135 g  dark chocolate
  • 135 g unsalted butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 150 g light soft brown sugar
  • 25 g cocoa powder
  • 150 ml double cream

Topping:

  • 250 ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp light soft brown sugar
  • 25 g dark chocolate

DSC_2156

Place the biscuits and Oreos in a blender.

DSC_2158

 

 

DSC_2159

Add a cool melted butter.

DSC_2161

Transfer the base to a prepared tin and put it in a fridge for a 30 min.

DSC_2164

Melt chocolate and butter in a water bath.

DSC_2168

Leave the cjocolate on the side ro cool down.

DSC_2170

Mix together eggs and sugar until fluffy.

DSC_2178

Gradually add melted chocolate,

DSC_2179

cream,

DSC_2181

and cocoa powder.

DSC_2185

Pour cake mix on top of the base and place in a oven.

DSC_2188

Bake for 35 min in 180 degrees.

DSC_2190

The cake is gonna sink a bit but don’t worry about it 😊

DSC_2195

Wait for the cake to cool down and whip the cream with brown sugar.

DSC_2210

Spread the cream on top of the cake and decorate with chocolate sprinkles.

DSC_2215

One thought on “Mississipi mud pie

Leave a Reply

