Mushroom and chicken risotto

DSC_1061

I think I’ve become a bit of a fussy eater. I bet you know that feeling when you are sitting at home and you fancy to eat something nice but you’re not sure what. And worse still- there is definitely nothing at home in your fridge and cupboards. You start to browse the internet but all the food pictures make you only more hungry. I had one of those days last week. I came back home ready to cook but didn’t know what. It took me a while before I found some risotto rice- hidden deeply in one of my cupboards. And then a great idea “I have never ever made risotto. Let’s make it now.” Quick visit to a shop for a wine (there’s never too much wine) and mushrooms and I was ready 😊 Of course I am not so gifted and didn’t create this recipe on my own- I used a Knorr one but added a few pieces of my own 😄 The result was so delicious but I made too much (by the look of the ingredients for two portions I thought it wouldn’t be enough so I followed the recipe and cooked for four. Oh well I had dinner ready for the following day too).

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 30g butter
  • 200 g mushrooms
  • 20 g dried mushrooms
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 300 g risotto rice
  • 200 ml white wine
  • 1 cube chicken stock
  • 200 g chicken breast
  • 40 g parmesan
  • 50 g frozen peas

DSC_1027

Soak dry mushrooms in a litre boiling water for 20 minutes.Heat a big frying pan and add a butter.

DSC_1028

Add diced onion and garlic.

DSC_1030

Add sliced fresh mushrooms to the frying pan. fry everything for about 5 minutes- until soft.

DSC_1031

Drain the soaked mushrooms (keep the water- add the chicken stock for the water).

DSC_1032

Add the diced mushrooms to the pan.

DSC_1035

Add the risotto rice.

DSC_1038

Fry the rice until transparent.

DSC_1040

Add the wine and cook until evaporate.

DSC_1042

On the separate pan fry diced chicken breast.

DSC_1044

Slowly add the stock with mushroom water to risotto pan (add ladleful stir until the rice absorb the liquid-repeat).

DSC_1045

DSC_1047

When the rice is nearly ready add the frozen peas and cook for 4 minutes

DSC_1048

At the end add the fried chicken…

DSC_1049

…and parmesan. Stir well.

DSC_1051

Cover risotto and leave for 2 minutes. Serve with fresh parsley and a glass of wine.

DSC_1064

Leave a Reply

