Banana Bread for the first time

IMG_20160414_191615

I love bananas 😍 I could eat them every day especially that you can buy them all year round so cheap. They are great in smoothies, as an ice cream and as an addition to cakes of course. And my all time favourite form of banana is banana bread. Love the moist texture, addition of the crunchy nuts and cinamon flavour mmm… But I’ve never attempted to make one. The reason is simple- my bananas never last so long 😑 However a few days ago I bought some extra fruit. Two of them I used for today’s cake and I kept two more in the freezer to make some nice icecream soon.

But back to the cake. I love bananas but my boyfriend… not so much (I will have to bake a nice cake for him soon ;p). So basically I will have the whole cake for myself haha 😆 Just joking. I will probably take a few pices to work and freeze the rest.

Here’s the healthy recipe (I used one from the blog cookieandkate.com).

DSC_0331

    DSC_0330Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey mixed with maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/4  cup  almond  milk
  • 1  tsp  baking  soda
  • 1  tsp  vanilla extract
  • 1/2  tsp  salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinamon
  • 1 and 3/4 cup  flour
  • 1/2   mixed nuts and chia seeds

DSC_0293

Preheat oven to 165 degrees and prepare the bread tin (grease it and sprinkle with flour). In a bowl whisk together honey/maple syrup and coconut oil.

DSC_0301

Add eggs and whisk. Then add mashed bananas and milk- mix it through.

DSC_0303

Add a salt, soda, cinamon…

DSC_0304

… and vanilla extract.

DSC_0306

Gradually add a flour and fold it with the mixture.

DSC_0309

Add the nuts and seeds.

DSC_0312

Transfer the cake into the tin and into the oven.

DSC_0313 DSC_0319

Bake for 55 minutes. Check the bread with a wooden skewer… And enjoy!

DSC_0322

DSC_0326

Leave a Reply

